Xcal3 Problems. Not loading tune. - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 10:08 PM   #1
Focus Fanatic
 
pistolgripbmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49331
Location: Lorain, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 86 ranger, 2007 focus zx3 s

Posts: 1,928
FF Reputation: 38 pistolgripbmx Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Xcal3 Problems. Not loading tune.

Okay, I finally got my Xcal3 from Tom at Focus-Power. It didn't come with an instruction sheet so I just plugged it in to my ODB2 not knowing I needed to update the Firmware first. After trying to load the tune and I got an error code I went to SCTflash.com and updated the Firmware. I'm still getting the same error codes however. I already cleared the Trouble Codes because I read about that in another thread. But still no luck.

When trying to load the custom tune I get "Error: Please use dealer locator at www.sctflash.com"

I then tried loading the strategy tune and get "Error: Strategy tune not supported"


__________________
teamduratec #143!
focus sport cool-flo, f2 v.3 header, trubendz 2.5 SS, frpp 1.5" front sportline rear, vf rear engine mount, 93oct Focus Power tune
pistolgripbmx is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2009, 06:30 AM   #2
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,359, Level 29
Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29 Points: 2,359, Level: 29
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
The errors mean there are no tune files on the device.

First, what is the firmware revision on the unit? (go to the device info menu)

Once you are sure that has been updated you will need to contact Tom and have him send your tune file.

The X3 comes in 2 flavors: custom only and strategy flasher. The custom only I believe is what Tom sells. That device comes from us blank and the dealer loads their custom file to it for each customer. The strategy flashers have preloaded files from us on them but can also hold custom tune files. You obviously have a custom tune only device that does not have a custom tune on it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pistolgripbmx View Post
Okay, I finally got my Xcal3 from Tom at Focus-Power. It didn't come with an instruction sheet so I just plugged it in to my ODB2 not knowing I needed to update the Firmware first. After trying to load the tune and I got an error code I went to SCTflash.com and updated the Firmware. I'm still getting the same error codes however. I already cleared the Trouble Codes because I read about that in another thread. But still no luck.

When trying to load the custom tune I get "Error: Please use dealer locator at www.sctflash.com"

I then tried loading the strategy tune and get "Error: Strategy tune not supported"
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2009, 11:53 AM   #3
Focus Fanatic
 
pistolgripbmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49331
Location: Lorain, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 86 ranger, 2007 focus zx3 s

Posts: 1,928
FF Reputation: 38 pistolgripbmx Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Yeah I sent Tom an email about it, he is going to send me the file.

The firmware version is 1.2.111

I was under the impression that the tune was already on the xcal and all I needed was to plug the unit in.

I should have it up and running by tonight.
__________________
teamduratec #143!
focus sport cool-flo, f2 v.3 header, trubendz 2.5 SS, frpp 1.5" front sportline rear, vf rear engine mount, 93oct Focus Power tune
pistolgripbmx is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2009, 12:10 PM   #4
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,642
Points 7,915, Level 59
Points: 7,915, Level: 59 Points: 7,915, Level: 59 Points: 7,915, Level: 59
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 13%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Pistol , I did the same thing when I got my tuner in , I thought that it already had my tune on it.

Only thing that was really kicking my arse was that I was using my computer's front usb connections to load my tune and it kept giving me an error code tune was not found .

So I plugged it into a usb port in the back of my comp and everything loaded like it was suppose too.

Just make sure you have a good charge on your battery cause it takes about 5 minutes to get everything set up and squared away .

Just to make sure my battery didn't go out on me I hooked up my charger to make sure it had a constant charge on it while I was loading my tune .
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2009, 12:28 PM   #5
Focus Fanatic
 
pistolgripbmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49331
Location: Lorain, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 86 ranger, 2007 focus zx3 s

Posts: 1,928
FF Reputation: 38 pistolgripbmx Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
/\ Thanks at least i'm not the only one who thought the tune was already installed. I'll be sure to use the rear usb plugs. I've had problems in the past using the front ones anyways strande problem that seems to effect many people. I've heard it's good to pull the fuel pump fuse so that isn't drawing any power whilst loading the tune to the car. Is this recommended or just another option to be sure your battery doesn't take a dump on you during the flash.
__________________
teamduratec #143!
focus sport cool-flo, f2 v.3 header, trubendz 2.5 SS, frpp 1.5" front sportline rear, vf rear engine mount, 93oct Focus Power tune
pistolgripbmx is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2009, 11:30 PM   #6
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,642
Points 7,915, Level 59
Points: 7,915, Level: 59 Points: 7,915, Level: 59 Points: 7,915, Level: 59
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 13%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Pistol , I didn't pull any fuses at all . I left everything in tack and just hooked up my battery charger to make sure nothing pulled the battery down while I loaded the tune .

You never turn the key over far enough to crank it but you turn it over and back a few times while your loading the tune.

And then if I remember correct after everything is loaded you unhook your negative cable to reset everything and your ready after about 20 minutes to hook everything up again and your set.
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2009, 12:52 AM   #7
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,815
Points 53,012, Level 100
Points: 53,012, Level: 100 Points: 53,012, Level: 100 Points: 53,012, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 46%
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I dont load the tunes on the xcals to make sure the customer gets a copy , to know they got the xcal and to make sure they get the correct tune , when your loading 4 to 8 of them in a day sometimes its tuff to get the right one thats loaded to the right customer

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2009, 01:06 AM   #8
Focus Fanatic
 
S0C0nFused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 39405
Location: Saint Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2007 TorD-Red ZX5 SES

Posts: 3,365
Points 12,348, Level 72
Points: 12,348, Level: 72 Points: 12,348, Level: 72 Points: 12,348, Level: 72
Level Up 75% Completed
Level up: 75% Level up: 75% Level up: 75%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 77 S0C0nFused Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The instructions from SCT I got with my Xcal2 recommends you pull the Fuel pump (50 amp) and blower (15amp) fuses before loading a tune. You do not need to reset the ECU afterwards. Pulling the fuses is just insurance. I don't know if everyone actually does that.
They keepin you busy Tom?
__________________
Steeda SRI w/CAI intake. Trubendz SS 2.5" . FR Susp/Struts. Tune by Tom (FocusPower). Rota Grids. SAP rear spoiler. Custom front air dam, rocker panel bits and Rear valance.
Last of the Hatches #28
S0C0nFused is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2009, 11:48 AM   #9
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,642
Points 7,915, Level 59
Points: 7,915, Level: 59 Points: 7,915, Level: 59 Points: 7,915, Level: 59
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 13%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Pistol, did you ever get your tune loaded and installed yet ?
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2009, 01:15 PM   #10
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0C0nFused View Post
The instructions from SCT I got with my Xcal2 recommends you pull the Fuel pump (50 amp) and blower (15amp) fuses before loading a tune. You do not need to reset the ECU afterwards. Pulling the fuses is just insurance. I don't know if everyone actually does that.
They keepin you busy Tom?
I think you got those fuses switched. The fuel pump is a 15. I know for sure it is because I pull it when I load a tune, it is the only 15 in my underhood fuse box.

The blower (havc or radiator fans?) isnt really necessary to pull because they shouldnt be on anyway... just turn the hvac off inside the car.

but yeah i pull the fuel pump fuse to A) save the pump and B) save the battery. you dont want a low voltage condition when you are loading a tune, its a good way to brick your PCM.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tune instal gone awry... almost... huey27 Focus-Power Tuning 6 09-09-2008 11:18 PM
Any problems with longterm use of a tune? chadman86 SVT Performance (2002-2004) 7 05-31-2008 12:49 AM
Question on uploading a revised Toms Tune FF4 Focus-Power Tuning 2 03-22-2007 07:23 AM
Problems with tune (Hypnotic) Toolman00 SVT Performance (2002-2004) 71 05-26-2005 04:43 PM
SVT Tune MIKESSVT SVT Performance (2002-2004) 76 01-15-2005 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1