Simulate NB output with wbo2 controller - anyone done it? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 07:54 PM   #1
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
Points 13,024, Level 74
Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Simulate NB output with wbo2 controller - anyone done it?

Hey all,

I'm finally getting around to tuning my car and I have run into a problem with my o2 sensors.

I have a JAW (Just Another Wideband) hooked up to my car and its working great. Right now its in the rear o2 spot, after my cat. I really don't want to "just say its .02 lambda leaner"...

So I have two options

1. (obviously) weld another bung in. This involves removing the cat pipe from the car, and as im sure many of you know the zetec cat flange gasket is impossible to find and expensive. I would like to avoid this if I can.

2. Use my JAW (which has 2 Vout's) to simulate a narrowband 1V, put my wbo2 in the stock spot, and splice wires into my car's harness. I will use the other vout to go to datalogging.


I would like to do #2 but was wondering if anyone has tried it and had it not work? Im wondering if the fact that it wont be oscillating will make the PCM get confused and start dumping fuel in.


I also need to know if you can extend the time the PCM stays in OL after starting, the bosch wbo2 has a longer warm-up time than a nbo2 does.


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2009, 09:19 PM   #2
Focus Fanatic
 
S0C0nFused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 39405
Location: Saint Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2007 TorD-Red ZX5 SES

Posts: 3,365
Points 12,348, Level 72
Points: 12,348, Level: 72 Points: 12,348, Level: 72 Points: 12,348, Level: 72
Level Up 75% Completed
Level up: 75% Level up: 75% Level up: 75%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 77 S0C0nFused Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I could not find anything specific to the 02 heater time. But. there is the IDLE_SPEED_ADDER_FOR_STARTUP you may want to look at.
I think you would have to ask Allen about what sort of output your JAW would make on the other serial port. But I think your saying it would be a steady 1v output. The web page says that Version 1.041 does have the narrowband simulator. What version do you have?
__________________
Steeda SRI w/CAI intake. Trubendz SS 2.5" . FR Susp/Struts. Tune by Tom (FocusPower). Rota Grids. SAP rear spoiler. Custom front air dam, rocker panel bits and Rear valance.
Last of the Hatches #28
S0C0nFused is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2009, 12:15 AM   #3
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
Points 13,024, Level 74
Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
I have the JAW 1.03 using 1.12 firmware

I can put a specific ramp on the two outputs individually. There is a preset for 1V narrowband. There are also presets for 10.0-18.0, theres one for the LC-1's ramp, and others.

The nice thing about it is when I want to do real fine tuning I can make the 5v ramp from 12.5-15.5 and really get a good reading of afr.

PS Alan is pretty useless, I found this out after buying but thankfully I had no problems with my transaction nor with my equipment, im a happy customer.


idle speed adder for startup would just increase/decrease the idle speed at start, no? the way i see it, I could lower that a bit to extend the time the engine stays too cold for closed loop.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2009, 10:42 PM   #4
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
Points 13,024, Level 74
Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
bump?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2009, 03:39 PM   #5
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
I'll add my $0.02
I did this on my GTP with an LC-1
First things first, you WILL NOT get a correct reading if the wideband is post converter. The cat. uses oxygen as part of the exhaust cleaning process so you will be getting an erroneous reading.

I had my wideband in the stock (pre-cat) location and used a simulated 0-1v output straight to the PCM. Only thing you need to do is disable the lazy O2 codes that will set because the wideband doesn't toggle above and below .450v like a stock sensor does. The smooth output of the wideband (simulated narrowband) will set 'lazy' O2 codes.
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2009, 03:42 PM   #6
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
Points 13,024, Level 74
Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
THANK YOU!!

So, i can just turn off those codes in Advantage somewhere?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2009, 03:48 PM   #7
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
Well, that's at your end.
I don't have any tuning software with this car, yet. I'm running the FR JRSC tune.

I had the software and hardware with the Pontiac and it was an option to not report certain errors.
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2009, 03:48 PM   #8
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
Points 13,024, Level 74
Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Alright, i'll check into that and make a decision
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2009, 04:08 PM   #9
Focus Addict
 
Dan-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50029
Location: Morrisville, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2002 FrankenTurbo powered Beetle

Posts: 1,091
FF Reputation: 13 Dan-O Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (26)
BTW, why do you need to remove the pipe to weld in a bung?
__________________
There's no replacement for displacement...
Yeah, there is: Boost!!
Dan-O is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2009, 04:20 PM   #10
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
Points 13,024, Level 74
Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74 Points: 13,024, Level: 74
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member illinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
I just cant see how youre going to get a welder in there with the EGR in the way. Plus theres almost no way youd be able to get to the head side of the weld.

I also cant really find a good spot to put it. There really isnt all that much room between the flange and the cat. One side already has the stock bung and the other side has the EGR pipe.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Remote Start Alarm install briandg510 Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 15 11-24-2012 04:34 AM
800 watt RMS amp at 4ohms? +Rep _spyder Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 34 11-28-2008 04:27 PM
Logitech Controller Programming? Gwizzy Gaming Fanatics 2 12-19-2007 09:23 PM
Stock Sub - Low/Crappy output from new aftermarket HU DFv2 Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 0 05-02-2007 05:30 PM
DTC Codes (Detailed Descriptions) S2 General Technical Chat 13 12-11-2006 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1