Focus Fanatics Forum banner

K&N's new intake kit

11K views 45 replies 19 participants last post by  VonKaiser 
#1 ·
Air intake part Auto part

K&N's 57S Performance Airboxes increase horsepower and acceleration by dramatically reducing air flow restriction caused by the original factory design. They come with K&N's Million-Mile Limited Warranty. 57S series airboxes replace the factory air filter housing with a fully enclosed injection modified air box containing a reusable K&N air filter. Installation is easy as they are specifically engineered to use factory holes and mounting points. No additional hardware, cutting or drilling is required.

Thought I'd share, discuss.

Sent from my Optimus G

See less See more
#3 ·
Yeah I'm happy with my Steeda intake, but think this is a good option for peeps who don't want the intake noise but want the power increase.

Sent from my Optimus G

#32 ·
#8 ·
Then what they sell (CARiD) ?

#9 ·
#10 ·
I'm no expert on intakes, but how much of a performance increase can be expected when all you are replacing is the air filter and the housing? Aren't there other bottlenecks in the intake system that this doesn't address?

I mean I was just looking at the AEM CAI and even they show only a maximum of a 3 HP increase.

#14 ·
Where's everyone who tried to crap on me for opening up my airbox? K&N does the same thing, charges $270, people like it[wth]

Clever marketing though. New airbox lid and open ended filter, charge $200 more the just putting the filter into your old airbox and use OE lid. I would bet a dyno of K&N lid to OE lid would be identical.

#23 ·
Troy's response:

"Hello Casey,

Good to hear from you! No headway on the MAF housing - We have tested a few in house and have determined that the filter was too tight on the housing causing it to collapse on the few we did receive.