Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Is Premium Gas ok?

10K views 50 replies 27 participants last post by  mlheck 
#1 ·
So I've never used premium before, but I've read/heard that its ok to fill up the tank once every month or 2 as it "cleans" the system a bit. I've also seen/heard that it does nothing.

As a focus owner, what do you say?

#2 ·
I have a zetec, but I don't imagine the answer would be to different from a duratec... I say it's great, I actually observe about 4-6mpg more with 93 vs 87. I also saw a smoother idle when my plugs needed replaced...

Some argue it's just a waste of money unless you have a tune, but I have observed different...

#5 ·
If your putting in premium= get a tune & enjoy the power w/ it.

If your running premium fuel, Why not take advantage of the power & get a 91-93 octane tune w/ a Steeda sri? Another words= Get a tune[woot]

#9 ·
I'm guessing the ECU isn't aggressive enough with timing and a super sensitive knock sensor to adjust for a higher octane. I'm pretty 95% sure it's a waste of money. Some ECU's will advance the timing until the knock sensor indicates knock, and will stay right on that fine edge. I know the 2011+ Mustangs do it. I doubt the Focus Zetec/Duratec ECU is that sophisticated.

#11 ·
If you read the owners manual it actually says that the use of premium will make it run worse under certain conditions. Those that say they get better mpg with it are fooling themselves. High octane fuel burns SLOWER and not as easily as lower octane that is the point of it.

#13 ·
I ran 93 without a tune for two or three years. About a month ago I switched back to Regular 87, and I'm not noticing any difference.

I can only imagine what parts I could've bought with that money...

#37 ·
I can only imagine what parts I could've bought with that money...
Just doing some dirty math...