Focus Fanatics Forum banner

building a duratec 2.3

30K views 63 replies 23 participants last post by  SYZ 
#1 ·
how much does it cost to build a 2.3 dura for boost? i would like keep it streetable and realiable.. does anyone build these motors?

#3 ·
CentralFloridaMotorsport's/ Fwerk's

Check out central florida motorsport's & Fwerk's, for price's, probably get a better deal from buying from 1 place= package deal. I'd do a ranger crank, rod's/ piston's & 1 piece SS valve's & of course a set of cam's. Thou's part's are from about $1000. + machining. Let me know what you come up w/ as far as who built's these motor's over here. It's seem's like there is a lot of builder's w/ part's for the Dura-tech's over in the UK. [wrenchin]

#4 ·
so if im understanding this right as long as the tq is around 250 ;ets say... i can get more whp out of it?

sorry im new to boost...

i just want a dura thatll hold around 300-350hp to keep up with all the damn sti's and evo's. it must be realiable too.

#5 ·
Check out top speed as well. The highest they made on a stock dura was 270wtq and 296-ish whp. You don't need 350whp to keep up with a stock sti......lmao
Stock crank will be fine.

And Felixthecat...I'm so jealous of some UK prices...its rediculous lol

#6 ·
What a built 2.3L is capable of....

If your really serious about a build contact companies like FSwerks, Top Speed or Focus Power (Tom) to discuss the goals for your car and your budget. Simply saying "I want to beat STI's and EVO's" isn't a great reason to drop tons of money into a engine.

#8 ·
I build the Duratec engine and have done dozens of them over the years , I am playing with the 2.5 out f the Fusion right now which in my opinion would be perfect for what you want , I havent got far enough for pricing yet

I can build you a Duratec engine thats good for 400 HP for 3550.00 complete , I build these engine I dont farm out my engine building so I keep good quality control

Tom

#11 ·