Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Yet another 2012 SE Sport audio upgrade

31K views 45 replies 16 participants last post by  Andy2002a 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm doing a full upgrade to my 2012 SE Sport 5spd. I've never done an install before but figured with all of the good info on these forums I'd be able to handle it myself.

In order to help contribute to the scant knowledge base currently available on the '12, I'll try to make as many pictures as possible for all the noobs like myself who have never done any of this stuff. If I end up doing something that looks stupid, feel free to second-guess and/or ridicule me.

Gear:
  • Amp: Rockford Fosgate R600-5 5ch (50W @ 4ohms x4, 300W @ 2ohms x1)
  • Sub: Polk db1040DVC 10"
  • Sub enclosure: Atrend E10S (sealed)
  • LOC: AudioControl LC6i
  • Front speakers: Polk db5251 5.25" components
  • Rear speakers: Polk db651s 6.5" coaxials
  • Power wire: Rockford Fosgate RFK4 kit (4 AWG)

I'll update this thread as I get components installed. It's tough for me because I live in the city and don't have a garage, so I have the added challenge of trying to dodge passing traffic as I tear my panels off.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
First thing I did was wire up the sub and put it in its enclosure. The Polk 1040DVC is a dual voice coil so I wired the two coils in parallel to achieve 2 ohms of resistance.

I wish the enclosure didn't have that stupid sticker on the corner. I don't wanna rip it off because who knows what it looks like under there.

I also got the grill cover for it so my girlfriend doesn't smack the cone with a shopping bag or something while it's in my trunk.

#3 ·
It's tough for me because I live in the city and don't have a garage, so I have the added challenge of trying to dodge passing traffic as I tear my panels off.
That just adds "degree of difficulty" to your score. We'll give higher marks, but the East German judge will still screw you over.