Focus Fanatics Forum banner

Yet another 2012 SE Sport audio upgrade

31K views 45 replies 16 participants last post by  Andy2002a 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm doing a full upgrade to my 2012 SE Sport 5spd. I've never done an install before but figured with all of the good info on these forums I'd be able to handle it myself.

In order to help contribute to the scant knowledge base currently available on the '12, I'll try to make as many pictures as possible for all the noobs like myself who have never done any of this stuff. If I end up doing something that looks stupid, feel free to second-guess and/or ridicule me.

Gear:
  • Amp: Rockford Fosgate R600-5 5ch (50W @ 4ohms x4, 300W @ 2ohms x1)
  • Sub: Polk db1040DVC 10"
  • Sub enclosure: Atrend E10S (sealed)
  • LOC: AudioControl LC6i
  • Front speakers: Polk db5251 5.25" components
  • Rear speakers: Polk db651s 6.5" coaxials
  • Power wire: Rockford Fosgate RFK4 kit (4 AWG)

I'll update this thread as I get components installed. It's tough for me because I live in the city and don't have a garage, so I have the added challenge of trying to dodge passing traffic as I tear my panels off.

See less See more
#37 ·
This connects to the Amp and tells it when to turn on and off.

#42 ·
I just found this thread. Nice install. I've been contemplating very much the same thing.

One question, though. Do you have any details (and photos, hopefully) of where and how you installed your sub box? I've been looking for a good spot in the hatch area that doesn't take up too much cargo space and doesn't have to be removed to change the rear stop lamps.

Thanks much.

#43 ·