2011 ford focus stereo replacement! - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
JasonDykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96326
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
What I Drive: 2011, blue, S

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 JasonDykes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2011 ford focus stereo replacement!

I want to get some subs, so in doing so I'm pretty sure I have to get an Aftermarket radio. If anyone has some instructions or any useful tips i could use that would be great.


JasonDykes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2012, 02:05 PM   #2
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93442
Location: Fenton, MO
What I Drive: 2009 Vista Blue SE

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 jmjjoseph Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I would definitely get an aftermarket stereo! I have a Kenwood single din with Bluetooth and
and usb in my car and it sounds great! taking out the dash is a pain because you have to remove the center console but overall it could be worse.
jmjjoseph is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,424
Points 20,219, Level 89
Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 19%
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not the whole center console just the grey plastic piece, Metra has both single and double din kits you have to remove both trim panels on both the left and right side of the headunit, pull the ebrake up put the car in 1st gear or leave it in netural if it's a mtx. Pull the plastic piece around the ebrake and shfter towards the back of the vechile, If your running power and ground theres a grommet on the driverside where the wiring comes through the firewall if you have a mtx, if you have a atx you can use the hole where the clutch pedal goes or you can use the grommet. Just to give you a heads up these cars have a big problem with road noise, Some guys have it some guys dont so if you have it dont be suprised remember if you are runnign an amp kit run the rca's down the right side and the power down the left side. I still havent figured out my roadnoise prolbem yet either so I just let it be. Word of advice on headunits you are going to defiently want to pop and get a b/t headunit because when the states pass the handsfree law you're gonna need either parrot or a b/t capable headunit. Pioneer in my opnion makes the best, myself and st aka bob both are running avh3300bt's and we love them they are navigation ready but do not come with navigation built in you have to buy a dongle to plug in the back of the headunit to get nav...or if you have an iphone just use the apple plug, pioneer has a specific part # for it I dont know what it is though. Also the 3300 has 4 volt preouts which in a matter of speaking make your music come alive. The newer double din avh series are going back to 2 volt preouts...why? I dont know I think you'd be hard pressed to hear the difference between 2 or 4 volt preouts. Also nothiing more then 2 12's or 1 15 will fit in the trunk. I know I may have left somethings out if you have anymore question just ask. BTW WELCOME TO F/F
badazz2010focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:14 PM   #4
Focus Fanatic
 
Red Jay 918's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79277
Location: Tulsa, OK
What I Drive: 2010 Focus SE

Posts: 1,878
Points 9,660, Level 66
Points: 9,660, Level: 66 Points: 9,660, Level: 66 Points: 9,660, Level: 66
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 7 Red Jay 918 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
you need an aftermarket radio for subs?? O_o
Red Jay 918 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:15 PM   #5
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,424
Points 20,219, Level 89
Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 19%
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
nope but he said he wanted to replace the stocker with an aftermarket one. You can use and sni 35
badazz2010focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:18 PM   #6
Focus Enthusiast
 
JasonDykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96326
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
What I Drive: 2011, blue, S

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 JasonDykes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Wait i thought you had to have an aftermarket radio for subs?
JasonDykes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:22 PM   #7
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,424
Points 20,219, Level 89
Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 19%
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Nope you can run an pac sni35 but it wont sound nearly as good as if you had a aftermarket headunit. You would of course need to either run a 4ga or 8ga amp kit with a anl fuse under the hood.
badazz2010focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:23 PM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
JasonDykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96326
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
What I Drive: 2011, blue, S

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 JasonDykes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm a car noob so alot of that doesn't click in my brain haha.
JasonDykes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:26 PM   #9
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,424
Points 20,219, Level 89
Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89 Points: 20,219, Level: 89
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 19%
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's cool ask away thats what I'm here for :)
badazz2010focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 03:30 PM   #10
Focus Enthusiast
 
JasonDykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96326
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
What I Drive: 2011, blue, S

Posts: 86
FF Reputation: 1 JasonDykes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Now if i only got a sub, first what things would i need and how would i set it up? Second if I only got a sub would i need an amp? Would my speakers blow easily because of the sub?
JasonDykes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1