SYNC System Thread - Page 41 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2013, 07:50 PM   #401
Focus Enthusiast
 
ripto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99257
Location: Ledyard, CT
What I Drive: 2012 Ford Focus

Posts: 252
Points 1,510, Level 22
Points: 1,510, Level: 22 Points: 1,510, Level: 22 Points: 1,510, Level: 22
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 ripto Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clump View Post
Rebuilt the collection onto the 64GB drive and as expected, too many files for track voice commands.

I have a 32GB drive and loaded about 28GB of music onto it, more or less what I would usually listen to and it works great. I didn't mess with the tag data at all, which makes me think it's a straight file count limitation.

64GB drive - 6,453 files
32GB drive - 2,965 files
The Sync lady is happy now!

1 other thing that seems odd -
There's no way to select different sources from the steering wheel controls. The manual shows a different setup with a media button. Mine has OK in the middle with arrows around it. Am I missing something, or did they just leave it out?
Whenever I want to browse the media stuff I have to hit the MENU button on the center console I think it is, next to the music symbol button, and then I use the steering wheel arrows.
__________________
2012 Ford Focus SE Sedan, Red Candy Metallic Tinted CC, 5 Speed Manual
SE Sport and Winter Packages, 203A Equipment Group, 17" M&P Wheels
K&N 69-3517TS Intake, Magnaflow 15138 Catback Exhaust, WeatherTech 82573 Window Visors, 35% ON-35 Madico Tint
ripto is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-14-2013, 02:13 PM   #402
Focus Enthusiast
 
Jvs1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117489
Location: Queens, NY
What I Drive: 2013, Ruby Red, SE w/ Black pack

Posts: 338
Points 235, Level 4
Points: 235, Level: 4 Points: 235, Level: 4 Points: 235, Level: 4
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 Jvs1991 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Im starting to become fed up with sync. So I have tried resetting my iPod and iPhone numerous times, voice commands still are not available on either device. So I put a couple albums on a flash drive and put it in, plays fine but again voice commands just do not work, I dont understand it. It all used to work fine for the first month I had the car. Another issue is that whenever I say "call home" or someone else, sync will say "say 1 for work, say 2 for cell, say 3 for mobile" so Ill say 3 and it doesnt even call the right person. Also used to work fine, its rather frustrating because everything else about the car is great but this stupid radio. And scrolling through my music is no help because that takes way too long.
__________________
Mods: Gorilla Mud Flaps, H&R Wheel Spacers, Wilwood DP6 Calipers, Steeda RSB, Morimoto XB LED Fogs, Morimoto D2S Projector Retro
Jvs1991 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2013, 09:07 AM   #403
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116275
Location: Manassas, VA
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Hatchback 5sp

Posts: 44
Points 205, Level 4
Points: 205, Level: 4 Points: 205, Level: 4 Points: 205, Level: 4
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 mtnbkr Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by st falcon View Post
does anyone else have people tell you there is a ton of background noise when talking on the phone on sync? windows up, fan on low, lots of noise at highway speeds. this doesnt happen in the Escape.
When I got my Focus in July, phone calls with Sync and my Windows Mobile phone were great. Nobody knew I was in a car. Since switching to an Android phone a couple weeks ago, several people have complained that they hear a lot of noise in the background.

Where are the microphones for Sync and why would this change with nothing more than a change in phones?

Chris
mtnbkr is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2013, 09:25 AM   #404
Focus Addict
 
dbsimms63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2014 White Platinum TC Titanium 5dr

Posts: 848
Points 2,183, Level 28
Points: 2,183, Level: 28 Points: 2,183, Level: 28 Points: 2,183, Level: 28
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 3 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnbkr View Post
When I got my Focus in July, phone calls with Sync and my Windows Mobile phone were great. Nobody knew I was in a car. Since switching to an Android phone a couple weeks ago, several people have complained that they hear a lot of noise in the background.

Where are the microphones for Sync and why would this change with nothing more than a change in phones?

Chris
SYNC=Microsoft
Windows Phone=Microsoft
Android NOT Microsoft
see a pattern?
Oh and BTW the mic is in on the console for the sunroof on the headliner, looks like horizontal slits.
dbsimms63 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2013, 03:33 AM   #405
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119046
Location: cambridge, Canada
What I Drive: 2012,red,focus,se,manual

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 focusrod Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
has anyone had this problem..everytime the temp outside dips below -10c my sync stops working on both of my 2012 focus's...the ford engineers are stumped by this problem..I have had the (apin module) replaced on both vehicles and tomorrow ford is going to start troubleshooting the issue...
focusrod is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2013, 08:47 AM   #406
Focus Addict
 
dbsimms63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2014 White Platinum TC Titanium 5dr

Posts: 848
Points 2,183, Level 28
Points: 2,183, Level: 28 Points: 2,183, Level: 28 Points: 2,183, Level: 28
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 3 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
That's only 14 F, we got down to 18 F this weekend here in Texas and mine worked OK. I hope they can get it fixed.
dbsimms63 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2013, 10:19 AM   #407
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119097
Location: Frederick, MD
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black SE 5 door

Posts: 33
Points 272, Level 5
Points: 272, Level: 5 Points: 272, Level: 5 Points: 272, Level: 5
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Clump Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The Search Command

Has anybody gotten the search command to do anything useful? It's in the list of commands from help and uses the same parameters as the play command.

I'm using a 32GB USB thumb drive and have track level voice commands working fine.

If I say "Search Artist Cream"

The Sync Lady says "Searching artist Cream"

Cream comes up on the display for about 3 seconds and it goes back to playing whatever happened to be playing.

If I say "Refine" the Sync Lady tells me I have to do a search first, even if I catch it with "Cream" still on the display.

I've "searched" here and via Google and not found any info. In fact, Ford doesn't list Search in their command list on line. The manual is no help. I called Sync support and they told me that you need to do a command like "Play" after the search.

So it looks like it's a wasted command.
Clump is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2013, 09:04 AM   #408
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119097
Location: Frederick, MD
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black SE 5 door

Posts: 33
Points 272, Level 5
Points: 272, Level: 5 Points: 272, Level: 5 Points: 272, Level: 5
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Clump Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I found out some more about the refine command - it needs parameters as well. If I catch it in the 3 seconds that the search parameter is on the display it will accept it. It won't refine with the same parameter as the search (artist, album, etc.).

So....

Search artist Cream

While Cream is on the display hit the button again

Refine album Disraeli Gears

Sync lady repeats it, Disraeli Gears comes up on the display - 3 seconds later back to whatever is playing.

It looks like Search and Refine are both useless commands.

Some "interesting" design choices here. We don't get any radio voice commands, but have some that are utterly useless built in.
Clump is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2014, 04:49 PM   #409
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Fan#: 131617
Location: Iowa City, United States
What I Drive: 2014,race red,se

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 Gamephoenix54 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Woo View Post
Anyone have any thumb drive recommendations? Or drives to avoid?

I bought this one thanks to its ridiculously good test scores with smaller file read/write (smaller meaning < 15 MB). Hoping it works.

I figure as long as it's formatted in FAT32 I should be in the clear. Note: SYNC doesn't play nice with NTFS.
I use a Sandisc Cruzer 8GB thumb-drive. Works great

I have noticed that if I want playlists to work I have to manually copy my music folder over and not use MS MediaPlayer to sync it. Otherwise it will always say no valid tracks.
Gamephoenix54 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2014, 04:50 PM   #410
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Fan#: 119502
Location: Cranston, RI
What I Drive: 2013 rally red focus hatch se

Posts: 65
Points 42, Level 1
Points: 42, Level: 1 Points: 42, Level: 1 Points: 42, Level: 1
Level Up 84% Completed
Level up: 84% Level up: 84% Level up: 84%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Gennylight13 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
can you install the sony audio deck system in a base model focus se 2013?? i want to buy the sony deck on ebay and swap it out but i just want to make sure it is compatible with my focus
Gennylight13 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1