tire pressure question - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Brakes, Suspension & Body Chassis

Brakes, Suspension & Body Chassis The place to go for answers on brakes, suspension, camber, alignment and more.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2008, 07:05 AM   #1
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 52076
What I Drive: 2007, red,SE, sedan

FF Reputation: 1 sysmex Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
tire pressure question

I just installed 18 inch rims on my Focus. I have no experience with such low profile tires. Should I still run Fords recomended tire pressure settings? I am using 215 35 R18 Nitto tires

Eibach suspension and pine air freshner

Last edited by sysmex; 11-07-2008 at 06:58 AM.
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2008, 07:44 AM   #2
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 55853
What I Drive: 2005 Pitch Black ZX4 ST

FF Reputation: 9 FucusFace Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
I always run 2-5psi less than the tire max spec. If your new tire spec is 50-60psi, the Ford 34psi spec is too low. You will get too much flex in the tire and wear on the edges. You live in a hot climate, so I would go somewhere in the range of 5-8psi less than max when the car has been sitting since the pressure will increase as the tires heat up.
Old 11-06-2008, 09:56 AM   #3
Focus Fanatic

Fan#: 1427
What I Drive: 99 miata, 05Mazda6, 09GTI, 12Imprez

FF Reputation: 141 Geezer Excellent Standing Member Geezer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FucusFace View Post