Focus Fanatics Forum banner

2012 Wash and Wax

5K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  elsolo 
#1 ·
Hey guys,
New to the site and just bought a new 2012 Focus Saturday, this is my first brand new car and I want to start things out right by buying a quality wash, wax and possibly a clay kit. I have in the past only washed and waxed my cars but I'm considering using a clay bar on this one to add that extra shine. I'm thinking either the Mother's California Gold Clay kit or Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay kit. As I have never used a clay bar before I'm unsure which to use. I'm looking for a complete "kit" that you guys might use: wash, clay bar, wax, any other products.
Thanks!

#2 ·
if its BRAND new, I would recommend holding off on the heavy duty detailing for at least a month.

It isn't necessary or wise to do any intensive work on fresh paint.

A clay bar does not "add shine"
A clay bar is used to remove contaminants that are embedded into the clear-coat over time. Sap, minerals from hard water, etc. Since its brand new, no time has passed and you have zero reason to use a clay bar.

If I were you, I would hold off on the detail and just wash/wax the car for now. In a month or so I would recommend having someone do a full detail, polish, and sealant. This will keep your car shiny and well-protected.

#6 ·
The paint is ready for anything you throw at it by the time it leaves the factory.

YEs a brand new car needs clay. The transportation and assembly process leads to something called "rail dust" which is little bits of iron and industrial fallout that gets bonded to the clear coat. The clay will remove this.

#9 ·
100% agreed.

I clayed my car about a month after I had it and the surface already had contaminants on the paint and you could really feel them plus the rain sports from sitting outside the dealer were prominent.
I used the Meguire's clay kit and the surface came out as smooth as the proverbial baby's butt.