: Too good to be true? Scam?


alk3civichater
07-10-2008, 04:58 PM
1994 toyota supra turbo (http://sandiego.craigslist.org/csd/pts/748630459.html)
craigslist found this deal. E-mailed them and I got this.. I dunno bout it..

You made the right choice!My 1994 TOYOTA SUPRA STOCK TWIN TUBRO 52K in great shape,no engine problems, 52,520 miles miles, damages or hidden defects.It was always garaged and never smoked in.I`m a single father with 2 children and i have problems with money,that`s why i`m selling it so cheap.The price is 3500$.We will use eBay`s protection program for our safety.I just need your full name and address so i can open a case.(with no further obligation or fees).Have a nice day!

Kinda weird with the name/address/ebay deal.. Also that I asked where theyre located so I could take a look at it, and didnt say anything.
What does everybody think?? am I [screwy] lol

Yocrew
07-10-2008, 05:09 PM
Read this.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=163110

NCedillos
07-10-2008, 05:11 PM
Rofl 3,500 more like 35,000 lol. Usually they are 20,000-30,000. Weird tho.

alk3civichater
07-10-2008, 05:12 PM
Wow.. sounds eerily similar.
I found the Ebay listing for the same car... I wonder if the dude just took the info off there and using it to try and get money? Item number: 130236959814

SkyPilot
07-10-2008, 05:33 PM
sounds like a scam to me

karguy427
07-10-2008, 05:35 PM
Ad from Ebay (Seattle, Wa) looks legit.
Ad from SAN DIEGO Craigs list doesn't. I'd say someone's up to shenanigans.

alk3civichater
07-10-2008, 05:36 PM
But I want a supraaaa!! [bigcry]
lol damn expensive things..

thenorm
07-10-2008, 05:37 PM
the add says salvage title. so how can that be "in great shape,no engine problems, damages or hidden defects."
where is the car located? can u see it in person. Don't use a 3rd party for the transactation "for our protection".

Be very wary. change that, just walk away.

alk3civichater
07-10-2008, 05:40 PM
I wouldnt care if it was salvage, as long as it runs and drives and looks good lol
But im aware this is a scam and wont be able to get MkIV supra for under 20k :(
Thanks for the help guys.

DURATECoftheDesert
07-10-2008, 06:26 PM
When did they change the body style for the Supra.... Cuz to me it looks like a 97.

Also that Salvage title comes into doubt.

Captain Moonpie
07-10-2008, 06:53 PM
The only way it could be that cheap an no engine problems is, if it didnt have an engine. Its a scam!

alk3civichater
07-10-2008, 09:58 PM
93-98 is that body style. the hawt one ;)

starfuryt550
07-10-2008, 10:33 PM
No way in hell. SCAM

That car, even salvaged and pretty messed up, would cost more than that. You're looking at 20k easy for a good condition stock supra like that

lildudeinacar
07-10-2008, 11:26 PM
Speedforsale.com

Check out there. I would buy from him if i had the cash

alk3civichater
07-11-2008, 12:13 AM
wow.. I need a higher paying job!..

LouOrangeSVT
07-11-2008, 06:29 AM
yeah its definately a scam! i had found an S200) on auto trader for like 8000 with only 12000 miles... they said the same thing about the "Ebay protection program" from what i hear, there really is no ebay protection program outside of ebay!

turr520
07-11-2008, 11:59 AM
It must be a scam. Check this out: http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?t=12396.

They claim they use Worldpay, Ebay, and others, but in the end it's all fake and you get scammed by sending money to them via Western Union.

Big operation from, allegedly, Nigeria.