Focus Fanatics Forum banner

rust on the spark plugs

4K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  amc49 
#1 ·
I replaced the spark plugs and wires today, with original parts motorcraft.

The engine block (the cavity where the spark plugs are mounted) was extremely rusted and full with water.

i cleaned everything v good with a vacuum and compressed air and i repeated this step a couple of times.

anyway, unfortunately after i removed the spark plugs, some rust came into the engine. I couldn't clean that. I mounted the new sparks and wires.

the engine is having some hiccups, not bad but is not running normal.

How can i resolve this with a very easy procedure? (i'm not a mechanic [???:)] )

Thanks
2003 focus zts

#2 ·
What was the condition of the wires and plugs when you replaced them? Replaced them because of the # of miles or something was running poorly. By running poorly are you saying its missing? Or something else? Usually their is just a bit of oil from a bad valve cover gasket. To have water and rust means you must have been driving in deep water and have bad seals on the wires around the valve cover.

#4 ·
[facepalm] yes

@magus2727
this is why i replaced the wires. the seal was broken and water was dripping inside. the interior part of the wires was full with rust.
the hiccups just appeared after i replaced the wires and spark plugs.
before that, even with water all around them, it was running good.
now, after replacement, and after some dirt and rust came inside the engine, is having hiccups

#5 ·
Ensure that the spark plugs are tight and that the connections of the wires are also tight. When pushing the wire onto the spark plug and the coil you should feel a light snap as they snap into place.

And did you route the wires exactly like the old ones were? Are you certain you have the correct wire going to the correct spark plug?