Focus Fanatics Forum banner

2012 Focus - Sunroof 'exploded' on my commute home

3K views 17 replies 15 participants last post by  Leora83 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,

So...I've been using this forum as a good reference for my 2012 Focus (which I've been really happy with) but I hadn't considered creating an account since I'm not much of a car person and felt like the whole transmission update situation was best left for the, ah, experts and gear heads to hash out.

However, I did have a really scary thing happen to me on my [short] commute home from work tonight- my sunroof just exploded! I don't know how else to describe it...I was cruising down the road at around 65mph with the nearest car way ahead of me in the distance when I heard an extremely loud explosion noise and realized I was covered in glass.

Fortunately, I wasn't hurt and was able to get it to a friend's garage since it was about to start raining when it happened. Upon looking closely at the car, I see the paint across the trunk is really beat up from the glass too :(

I called my dealership and the service manager seemed genuinely concerned and wants to look at it first thing in the morning so I guess I'll go from there.

I'm kind of embarrassed by how shaken up I am, but, geez. Frightening!

See less See more
#4 ·
I hope your local ford dealer takes care of it, rather than insist that YOU broke it somehow due to negligence or carelessness, and are trying to lie to get them to pay for it.

Good luck.

#5 ·
Obviously the other one was not an isolated incident. I wonder if anything came of it. I hope the dealer takes care of it for you.

#6 ·
That's insane. And from your story, nothing hit you and it had not started any precipitation.

Yeah, I also hope the dealership takes this in for you no charge and look into that.

Ray

#8 ·
Thanks everyone,