Focus Fanatics Forum banner

PTS Remote start from OEM Fob

28K views 106 replies 27 participants last post by  travr6 
#1 ·
Well just wanted to let everyone know that I have installed a remote start in my Titanium with push to start that works off the factory key fob.

The installation does not require any additional keys or dealer scan tools. Although I do this for a living, I did install this (soldering all wires) in under 1 hour.

Here is the link to the hardware required to do it all.

http://www.idatalink.com/firmware/firmware/firmware_family_id/109/product_id/1/vehicle_make_id/12/vehicle_year_id/2012/vehicle_model_id/63/package_type/0/vehicle_id/8764

It is currently raining so this is what I have to show for now, I will try to make a better video showing all the install tomorrow if I have a chance.

#14 ·
Yes. The ADS-Al CA is the module I used. They are programmable to do almost any car on the market depending on the firmware you load into it. The downside with this particular firmware is that you have to do a 2 part programming. First hook up all the wires then program it for step one. Plug it back into the car then proceed. What it essentially does is copy the key information the first time you turn the ignition on then you have to remove it, plug it back into the computer and continue to program for step 2. Second step essentially checks the CAN network in the car to make sure that it is reading the car correctly.

The part you need to be able to flash the unit is ADS-USB

#18 ·
Car starter shop? Not sure what that is. If a person ordered this from the link in my other post and they claim to do the programming for you, would this work? Do you have to wire, hook up, then unhook and program. I think you said that the box learns the car on that initial turn on but if this is the case I am wondering why they would advertise they would program your car for you.